Oh Canada!

My hope for every college student is that they find a mentor on campus that they can trust and turn to at a moments need. Someone who can encourage and provide direction. Someone who has learned from the past and hopes the best for that student’s future. Someone who opens their home and invites them into their family. Because having someone like that in college is invaluable. I had the pleasure of developing such a relationship in college, and it’s been one that I’ve tried to maintain over the two years since graduation.

I first met Ron and Judy four years ago when we were preparing to spend the month of January teaching English in the Czech Republic. Back then they were only a sweet couple that were leading our team overseas. However, after getting to know them, respect turned into friendship, friendship turned into mentorship, and mentorship turned into family. Their house was on the outskirts of campus and it became a haven for me my senior year of college. I remember family dinner nights where we would exchange stories and ideas. I opened up to them about fears and apprehensions and they would listen and offer advise. I remember walking back to my apartment after those lovely evenings thinking how incredibly safe and loved I felt, privileges I did not expect nor deserve.

Two years later and it’s like I’ve never been apart from them. Just this past June they drove to New Jersey to be honored guests and participants in our marriage. When we said our goodbyes that day we all had a feeling it wouldn’t be for long. It turns out we were right. We spent two nights with Ron and Judy at my Alma Mater, Taylor University. We were greeted with warm hugs and the mouth-watering smell of chicken kebabs, summer corn, and roast potatoes. After dinner they took us on a tour of the campus to show us all the wonderful changes that are happening. I felt full of pride as I showed my husband my school and enjoyed remembering my time there. The following day was devoted to catching up with as many friends and faculty as I could. It was both encouraging and inspiring to hear about how well some of my friends are doing since graduation.

Our next stop was Buffalo, New York, just two days out from the finish line. When we were a few miles outside of the city, I asked Andrew how far we were from Niagara Falls. I had never been there before, so I was curious. He kept his eyes on the road and nonchalantly exclaimed “Not far – I’m actually taking you there right now.” ARE YOU KIDDING ME. Cue the dramatic and rapid regurgitation of incessant questions. Are you serious? How long have you been planning this? Am I seeing the Canada side? What about my passport? YOU HAVE MY PASSPORT? HAVE YOU BEEN PLANNING THIS SINCE THE BEGINNING? ARE YOU SERIOUS? Followed by, “Wait, what are you going to do?” For those of you who are not aware, my husband is a native Australian seeking permanent residence in the United States. If he were to leave the country during this process he would have to abandon his application.

So I did what anyone in my position would have done. I pulled my hair out of my face, wrapped my sweatshirt tightly around my waist, put my Nikon and camera bag over my head, triple-checked I had my passport and made my way to Canada alone. Truth be told, Canada’s checkpoint officer just about had me in tears, but I made it through. I was caught off guard by all of his questions, and he became increasingly intense the more nervous I became. Apparently a girl crossing the border by herself is deemed suspicious.

The increased heart-rate and adrenaline was all worth it once I saw the falls. A World Wonder, the sheer force and majesty of the cascades were unlike anything I had ever seen. Rainbows burst forth and cool mist filled the air. The falls roared thunder and boasted beauty. I was utterly captivated. For an hour and a half I walked up and down the fall’s edges, taking in the incredible view and thinking about the last month. It’s been a long and wonderful journey, and man what a way to close the curtains. Thank you, Andrew. You sure know how to surprise a girl..

Leave a comment